Fern Grove Cottages - Russian River Valley - Sonoma Wine Country Bed and Breakfast - TheRussian River's Best Getaway!
» RESERVATIONS
  707-869-8105 | 888-243-2674
  innkeepers@ferngrove.com 
Fern Grove Cottages Reviews
Free Wine Tasting Passport - click to view   |   Purchase a Gift Certificate Online
Our Reviews

“Great place to getaway”
5 of 5 stars
Fern Grove Cottages are amazing. It was a perfect location and close to everything. Our room was upgraded for us by the staff which was so sweet. It was great being able to enjoy a delicious breakfast, use their computer, or choose a DVD from their collection of DVDs. It was our first visit to Fern Grove, but it won't be our last! :)

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple

“Charming and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars
I've stayed here before in basic Studio cottage which are nice. This time I went for studio with kitchen and fireplace. More space and the decor and furnishings created a rustic cabin feel. Nice to have fireplace for the cold nights. Kitchen very clean and we'll supplied with dishes and everything you need. Annie the Innkeeper is delightful and the staff are all friendly and helpful. Located near the westend side of town it's quiet and a short walk to all the center of town. complimentary breakfast is a nice touch and a great way to visit with other travelers. Highly recommend!

Stayed March 2015

“What a wonderful place!! Elated.
5 of 5 stars
When we arrived they were very helpful, kind and informative. We checked in mid-week when we opened the door they had a cold bottle of Korbel Champagne iced for us knowing that we were celebrating our recent engagement! Very delightful. We decided the next night to upgrade to a bigger cottage maybe with a bathtub, they were very accommodating and gave us a lovely room with a wrap around view and fireplace. If you are wanting to find a cozy in between to the ocean and redwoods this is the spot! Loved every minute at Ferngrove. Thank you for your sincere warm accommodations.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple

“Return stay experience was excellent!”
5 of 5 stars
We took advantage of their winter special, 3 nights for the price of 2, and stayed over Valentine's Day, President's Day weekend. We had chilled champagne and chocolates waiting in our room when we arrived. Each evening the innkeeper shared cream sherry, hot chocolate, teas and delicious cookies/pastries in the lobby. Breakfast was even better, including delicious coffee and homemade scones, pastries and fruit - all complimentary. Our cottage this time was smaller but still comfortable and kept very clean. They had just added an addition to the deck that wrapped around the side of our cottage that allowed us to have a private, outdoor little space of our own. This was our second stay and we enjoyed each stay completely. The innkeeper was so informative and helpful, just delightful. We love the Guerneville area and plan to return to visit again. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else other than the Fern Grove Cottages.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple

“Wooded Retreat at the Edge of a Resort Town”
5 of 5 stars
This place is perfect: wood-paneled cabins with fireplaces nestled in a forest of California Redwood trees. Walk into Guerneville to enjoy one of several very good restaurants. Take an easy drive to the Dry Creek winery region for wine tours and tasting. Or drive in the opposite direction to eat oysters out at Bodega Bay. Fern Grove is so relaxing and convenient and the gardens so lovely, you'll do as we have and visit again and again. Very welcoming to everyone including gay couples like us.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple

“Super adorable, super fantastic vacation spot!”
5 of 5 stars
Loved our first stay here over New Years. The staff was incredibly accommodating, giving us so many tips to make our visit a memorable one. Such as New Years Eve hot spots, hiking suggestions, and general nice small talk. Also the main house has binders on binders on binders of things to do in the area. And fabulous movies to borrow! Seriously top tier. And games. I beat my boyfriend several times at Jenga. The room we stayed in was a large studio and it was completely perfect for the two of us. Fireplace, kitchen with pots/pans/dishes, comfy couch, and queen sized bed made our romantic getaway perfect. They also allowed us a late check-out because we just couldn't tear ourselves away just yet.

Basically if you enjoy super adorable cozy lodging, friendly people, personal fireplaces, and being 5 miles away from a beautiful national park, you will love it!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple

 

“Fern Grove Cottages”
5 of 5 stars
We have been staying here at Fern Grove Cottages for the last 7 years. We enjoy the cottages with fireplaces, kitchenettes, comfy accommodations, and the helpful and cheerful staff. Fern Grove Cottages are also pet friendly - our family dog - Maggie enjoys her stay also!

The cottages are located near downtown Guerneville with shops and restaurants all within walking distance. The cottages are nestled within redwoods that are breathtaking.

We have been coming for 7 years and will definitely continue.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family

“Best B&B in Sonoma County”
5 of 5 stars
Fern Grove Cottages has been our 'go-to' bed and breakfast/resort since I discovered it over five years ago. Upon arrival, we feel comforted by the beautiful gardens and the sight of adorable cottages nestled in the tall Redwoods. It is notable, that the sound of traffic disappears. The Innkeepers and owners are hands on, and often both are there to greet you warmly, get you situated and inform you of what is happening in the nearby areas during your stay. The cottages are uniquely and beautifully decorated, clean, comfortable, very cozy and Affordable! All staff are friendly and professional. There is a large heated swimming pool with decks, very well kept, a must for our family. We live in Sonoma County, so we have many options of where we choose to stay, and we always choose FernGrove!

“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars
We had a bunch of friends come together and stay at the Fern Grove recently and it was amazing. Jenny, the new owner, was so sweet and went above-and-beyond to make it a special event. We love being able to walk to restaurants and bars but have a quiet place (nestled in the redwoods) to come back to. Definitely looking for our next chance to visit and stay in one of those kitschy cowboy-themed rooms!

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends


“Fern Grove Cottages - Perfect place”
5 of 5 stars
I've now stayed here four times, and three of those were under the new management. New management is wonderful.... helpful, responsive, friendly and accommodating for any special needs. The location is very beautiful with all the redwoods, flowers and well-kept landscaping. While certainly no W hotel, it's a steal to stay here. You have everything you need for a weekend retreat and in some ways even more. We love to come up here for a weekend. We eat at our favorite restaurant - Corks-, build a fire in the fireplace, read on the front porch, and when warm utilize the pool. They have a nice DVD library if you need that form of entertainment, and a great breakfast each morning (Scones are awesome!). Every cottage is comfortably furnished, has a small kitchen, fireplace, nice bathroom, and private bedrooms (except the Studio cottages). We have brought our parents and friends to stay here and everyone thought it was a wonderful place. We will be returning for many years!


“PEACE AND TRANQUILITY”
5 of 5 stars
My stay at the Fern Grove Cottage is always a treat away from San Francisco. The charming cottages are sweet and the continental breakfast with fresh scones add to the homey vibe. Love the pool in the early morning and afternoon. Although wish that the sun lasted all day on the pool, the gorgeous redwood trees block out the afternoon sun. And the rushing of cars on the nearby road reminds me that I'm not far from civilization. All and all I come back to Fern Grove year after year, it just feels like home.

Room Tip: All the cottages are lovely. I don't think you could pick a bad one.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends


“A very nice Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars
My husband and I were returning home to WA last April when we came upon Guerneville and Fern Grove Cottages accidentally. It was late in the evening, we were very tired and the owner had one cottage left. The 2 bedroom cottage with kitchen was delightful! Seeing the beautiful grounds the next morning was such a treat. Flowers and beautiful plants were everywhere and everything was immaculate. This cottage had a cowboy theme with items reminiscent of our childhood! The included breakfast in the morning was offered in the elegant and charming dining room of the home. Delicious homemade treats hot from the oven and fresh fruit. We definitely recommend Fern Grove Cottages. It would be a wonderful place for a family reunion!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple


“Serenity in the redwoods!”
5 of 5 stars
If you're looking for the Russian River vibe, this is the place. Cottages set within a grove of soaring redwoods. Serenity in abundance. What I loved most was Annie who worked in the front office. She gave us a tour of the lush gardens, told us about the mermaid that frequents the Fern Grove swimming pool, gave us suggestions for biking and hiking. Kindness is powerful.

We stayed in a one bedroom with kitchenette and spa tub. Immaculate, cheery, and super comfortable. Breakfast was perfect - fresh, simple and not confined to a small window of time, as one might find in a traditional bed and breakfast.

Heartfelt thanks to Fern Grove Cottages for working its magic on us ... We've already reserved our next stay!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple

fern grove cottages on trip advisor fern grove cottages on yelp fern grove cottages on facebook fern grove cottages on twitter